Trying to have a baby?

For those of you ladies out there who are trying to conceive and haven’t yet because of infertility issues, you’re not alone! Trying to get pregnant can be so frustrating when there are things in the way, interrupting the process. When my Fiance and I first decided we wanted to start a family, I thought it was going to be easy. Just have unprotected sex and you’ll get pregnant, right? Wrong. Month after month of getting negative hpt’s, (Home pregnancy tests) I decided to turn to the internet for answers. I’ve read a million different posts and watched a million different videos. I was becoming more and more educated with each search I made. I’ve learned there is only a small percentage of a woman getting pregnant, due to the fact that a womans ovulation only occurs one day out of the month. Which means her egg has to be fertilized in the next 12-48 hours after dropping, otherwise pregnancy does not occur. So all those people that end up getting pregnant the first time they have sex, it just so happens to be at the right time in her cycle. Confusing, I know. So my question is, why have I not been able to get pregnant. I have been trying for a year and 3 months now. Well, there are a lot of other factors that play a role in getting pregnant. Such as a woman period, what she eats, what her sleep pattern is like etc. And in my research, I noticed that a lot of woman having a hard time ttc, (trying to conceive) had irregular periods. So I googled what can cause an irregular period. There was one video in particular I came across. It was a girl around the same age as me talking about her ttc journey. She mentioned that she was diagnosed with PCOS. I’m not sure if I have this or not, but I really felt like I related to a lot of the symptoms. From my understanding, it is very difficult to get pregnant with PCOS because basically you don’t ovulate. Instead of a woman’s egg dropping during ovulation it stays on her ovaries, which later dies off and turns in cysts. Hence the name, poly cystic ovarian syndrome. It also messes with your cycle. Either elongating them, or making it to where you don’t get a period at all. If I do infact have pcos, there is no cure for it. However, many people can regulate it with medicines, depending on how bad your case is. Because I have been trying for more then a year, I’ve decided to takes steps to improve my chances of getting pregnant. I have started taking Fertilaid and ovaboost which basically regulates my period, helps me ovulate and increases the quality of my eggs. I’m only in one month of taking them but I did get a positive opk (ovulation predictor kit). Which I never got before. I am now currently in my 2 week wait which is probably the most stressful time out of the month. Basically 2 weeks after ovulation, you will have enough hcg in your system to get a positive pregnancy test if you did conceive. So those 2 weeks feel like eternity. And constantly looking for pregnancy symptoms does drive me a little insane. Especially knowing its probably all in my head, and that it’s probably way too soon to even get symptoms. But that happens every month. I’m sure some of you reading this, knows exactly how i feel. The medicine I’m taking, does say to give it 3 months to see positive results. A woman’s egg does take 3 months to develop. So if that 3 months passes and I don’t get pregnant, I will definitely be visiting the lady Dr. to see what other steps I can take. I’m hoping this is the month it happens for me and my fiance. This has been a long hard road to follow but I won’t give up. I will give anything to have my own little family. I will definitely keep you all updated. – Kimberly.

Leave a Reply

